The easiest brake job I've ever done....

Search this Thread

Old April-1st-2003, 01:19 PM
Show Layne some respect

hihoslva is on a distinguished road
The easiest brake job I've ever done....

......was about an hour ago.

Changed the front pads on the P5, as they were wearing thin. I have done probably 10-15 brake jobs in my life. Not enough to know it all, but enough to know what I'm doing. The P5 was BY FAR the simplest job ever. Literally took about 15 minutes per wheel, from the time I laid the jack under the car to the time I let it down and fully re-tightened the lugs. And this was using the stock scissor jack and tiny little lug wrench - a hydraulic jack and impact gun coulda cut me down to Indy pit stop times.... Awesome. It's so damn easy, I can't believe ANYONE would take the car to a shop and pay tons of money for this. So simple, they oughtta just include the 8mm Allen wrench with the lug wrench and jack, so anyone can change pads. Maybe I'm just a newbie to imports, but I couldn't believe how simple this was.

And yes, I DID use the Raybestos pads from Pep Boys. And they had lied to me earlier, saying it was $55 for the front and rear. It was $57 for the front only. But they seem to be fine pads - I notice no difference in feel from stock at all. Bite is fine, and so is modulation and overall feel. I'm satisfied.

And a quick tip for anyone who doesn't know this: NEVER add brake fluid to your master cylinder, unless you have a leak or otherwise open the system:

I knew my brakes were getting worn, but wasn't sure just how much. Then a few days ago, my brake warning light (!) came on during a few moderate stops when the car was cold (and brake fluid cold), and once during a moderately hard corner.