Mazda3Club.com  

Go Back   Mazda3Club.com > General Discussion > Mazda3/Mazdaspeed3
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Photos FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Used CarsVendor Directory
Welcome to Mazda3Club.com

Mazda3/Mazdaspeed3 General/Maintenance Discussion of the Mazda3 and MazdaSpeed3

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old March-30th-2012, 07:01 PM   #1
bralest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
bralest is an unknown quantity at this point
Mazda 3 check engine nightmare

Hello guys,

I don't know much about cars so please bare with me.

The check engine light on my Mazda 3 2006 came up while I was on the road. I drove it afterwards for a few days and made almost 500 miles before I took it to an authorized service. Never noticed a single problem or a change in how the car behaved, everything was working fine except that bloody check engine light.

Than in the service guys started playing with my car, they said they were checking a "harness", and than all of a sudden they said that the car is not running well anymore and they will have to replace the "harness" (whatever that is). Fine, they gave me a rental and I drove away.

Took them a week to order and replace the harness, and than today I received a call that the car is still not working fine, that now they think the problem is the computer, and that they recommend replacing that too. Harness replacement will cost me around $600, and now the computer replacement should cost me another $1200.

What do I do?, any advice?
bralest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April-2nd-2012, 07:57 PM   #2
fc3sBerto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 40
fc3sBerto is an unknown quantity at this point
Um... dont pay for the harness? I wouldn't pay for something that ain't broke.

What you should really do is ask them what code the check engine light is throwing... and what that code corresponds to. If they wont tell you, take it somewhere else.
fc3sBerto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April-3rd-2012, 01:02 PM   #3
ryanmtaylor77
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 12
ryanmtaylor77 is an unknown quantity at this point
i was having a similar problem. Have you driven it to see what was happening???? here is a link to my thread. Turned out to be the TCM

http://www.mazda3club.com/showthread.php?t=56278
ryanmtaylor77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April-4th-2012, 11:43 AM   #4
djs2571
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Churchville,ny
Posts: 901
djs2571 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to djs2571 Send a message via Yahoo to djs2571
if there's a light on, there's a code set. they can tell you what the code is and you can see if it's something on the forum.
If they mis-diagnosed many hundreds of dollars of parts you shouldn't be responsible for it.

You may be able to argue that they said it would be fixed for $600 (whatever the first bill was), and its their fault for not figuring it out, and they should pay for whatever the costs to actually repair the problem.

You have to use unclear logic, see if it works. But they could have told you that it is your tires, or anything for that matter, if it didn't have to do with the problem, they should not charge you for it. And they can't prove that it did have anything to do with the problem since it didn't fix it.
__________________
Dave '07 M3 GT, manual, - black
Adders: backup sensors, current limited hi-beams (for long life), Fog light on with running lights (t=44332 PAGE2), low beam aiming switch adjustment (t=47722), dash squeak reduction, badges removed, door bumpers removed, auto up/down windows, under seat subwoofer, True hidden hitch (t=53213), rear camber fix (t=53425)
Info / help: outside running lights only as DRL (t=54453)
link example http://www.mazda3club.com/showthread.php?t=54453
djs2571 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May-22nd-2012, 02:13 PM   #5
o73
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Malvern PA
Posts: 15
o73 is an unknown quantity at this point
i have a feeling your maf or map sensor went bad and your computer learned how to drive with it using an adaptive stratagy, once you clear the codes your ecu assumes everything is good and sees its bad and refuses to start the motor. if that is your problem simply unplug the maf/map sensor and your car should start right up. if it starts then plug it back in and drive away then replace it next week.
o73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May-26th-2012, 06:52 AM   #6
icspots
Registered User
 
icspots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 488
icspots is on a distinguished road
What they said, find out what the code was and go from there.

In the future if your CEL comes on just drive over to an auto parts store and ask to have a code read. Most places will do it for you for free, or hold your license and give you their gauge to do it yourself. It takes less than a minute to plug into the OBDII and get the reading back. Once you have the code you can easily look up the issue online.

From the complete lack of information they gave you (and in turn you gave us) it's difficult to diagnose what the issue is. I know a number of people have had issues with the ground on the MAF being damaged and it causing issues, so it's possible that's it. I doubt that and entire harness went bad, but sadly now adays instead of replacing a single piece of faulty wire or a bad connection dealers will spend thousands of dollars on parts and labor to replace entire harnesses. Sad.
icspots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June-22nd-2012, 08:44 PM   #7
Mazda3Owner818
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Mazda3Owner818 is an unknown quantity at this point
need to know if anyone else is having issues with mazda 3 manifold??? have to replace mine (2008) with less than 76,000 miles on it.
Mazda3Owner818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June-23rd-2012, 01:17 AM   #8
Autopete
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Autopete is an unknown quantity at this point
When a shop is asked to diagnose & repair, and they quote a price for a repair, the contract is that price will fix it. it varies in different states, in California the shop keeps fixin till its right, max 10% bump for the unexpected after an estimate is given. Did the shop say can't diagnose it till ya change the harness, or you need a harness, as in "that will fix it"?
Autopete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June-23rd-2012, 01:17 AM
Mazda3Club
Mazda3




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
07, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2011, 2012, 23, blinking, check, engine, light, mazda, mazda3, mazdaspeed, modify


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2005 mazda 3 2.3 over heating nightmare redinsoxicated Mazda3/Mazdaspeed3 14 August-9th-2012 09:56 AM
2005 mazda 3 2.3 over heating nightmare redinsoxicated Mazda3/Mazdaspeed3 3 March-3rd-2012 01:56 AM
06' Mazda 3 Check Engine Light....HELP! Ivlatthew Mazda3/Mazdaspeed3 3 December-2nd-2011 11:26 AM
Check Engine Light 07 mazda 3 leeleemaz3 Mazda3/Mazdaspeed3 2 December-29th-2010 11:01 AM
2004 Mazda check engine light kelliegirl2112 Mazda Service Info 0 March-5th-2009 10:14 AM




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 PM.


All content Copyright © 2012 by Internet Brands, Inc.