Mazda3Club.com  

Go Back   Mazda3Club.com > General Discussion > Mazda3/Mazdaspeed3
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Photos FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Used CarsVendor Directory
Welcome to Mazda3Club.com

Mazda3/Mazdaspeed3 General/Maintenance Discussion of the Mazda3 and MazdaSpeed3

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old August-19th-2011, 07:17 AM   #1
sazzy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
sazzy is an unknown quantity at this point
Radio Display Problem?

This is a tip - not a question. I have a 2006 Mazda3 4 door. Last year, my radio display stopped working! I could still play the radio, CD, etc. I just could not see what time it was, the temperature, or what station was playing, etc. Everything else on the dashboard was working fine. I took my car to the dealership and they said it would cost about 600-700 to fix because it wasn't a fuse problem. I walked straight out of there laughing - no way was I shelling out that much money to a stealership. As long as I could hear the radio, I was fine. Fast forward a year later, last night, my car died because I left the lights on for a few hours. Someone helped me jump start the car, and my jaw just dropped to the ground when I saw my radio display light up!! It came back from the dead!! I have All I can do is pass on the message and hopefully this remedy would help others with this problem. I guess jump starting the car reset the electrical system somehow. At any rate, I'm one HAPPY camper.
sazzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August-25th-2011, 11:26 AM   #2
djs2571
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Churchville,ny
Posts: 901
djs2571 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to djs2571 Send a message via Yahoo to djs2571
I doubt it was the jump, but the low battery & reset that it caused... so removing the battery or fuse may solve the problem too.
Glad to hear you found an easy fix.
__________________
Dave '07 M3 GT, manual, - black
Adders: backup sensors, current limited hi-beams (for long life), Fog light on with running lights (t=44332 PAGE2), low beam aiming switch adjustment (t=47722), dash squeak reduction, badges removed, door bumpers removed, auto up/down windows, under seat subwoofer, True hidden hitch (t=53213), rear camber fix (t=53425)
Info / help: outside running lights only as DRL (t=54453)
link example http://www.mazda3club.com/showthread.php?t=54453
djs2571 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October-27th-2011, 04:35 PM   #3
Rochelle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Rochelle is an unknown quantity at this point
I have just googled the problem because it has happened out of the blue today - also a 2006 but a 5 door.
Told husband and he suggested I disconnected the battery and reconnected!!!!! Can't believe he may be right. He is now asking which fuse controls the radio unit and display- does anyone know?
Rochelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October-28th-2011, 09:55 AM   #4
Parabolous
Registered User
 
Parabolous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 55
Parabolous is an unknown quantity at this point
Rochelle--If you lift up the fuse box top, underneath should be a diagram of which fuses go where and what they correlate with. I hope this helps!
Parabolous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October-28th-2011, 09:58 AM   #5
Rochelle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Rochelle is an unknown quantity at this point
Husband has fixed it but since he has just gone out , I have no idea whether it was the fuse or if he just connected and reconnected the battery!!
Rochelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October-28th-2011, 11:16 AM   #6
Rochelle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Rochelle is an unknown quantity at this point
Husband said he took the fuse out and then put the same one back in again as when he tested it there was nothing wrong with it!!! Hope others learn from this.
Rochelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December-18th-2011, 05:25 PM   #7
3D Racing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
3D Racing is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile Confirmation that this tip works!!!

My radio display went blank a few days ago so after reading this thread I removed the Audio fuse from the fuse block under the hood. The radio was still on? so I'm not sure what this fues was for?

So I removed the ground wire from the car's battery for about 3 minutes, reattached and bang! the radio display is back!

Thanks Sazzy for posting this!

-Doug
3D Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January-17th-2012, 09:06 PM   #8
bwar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 9
bwar is an unknown quantity at this point
Simply swap (in the fuse box) the HORN fuse for the RADIO fuse...you won't believe till you try...but it works!!
bwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January-26th-2012, 07:05 PM   #9
Maureen Condon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Maureen Condon is an unknown quantity at this point
Mazda 3 display failure

Thanks for the great tip. Last time I had the temperature/radio display fixed it cost ~$150 for the unit. I want to try the battery reconnect this time, as the unit has failed again after only 2 years.
Maureen Condon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January-24th-2014, 09:23 PM   #10
whodat54321
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
whodat54321 is an unknown quantity at this point
Just a bump on this thread, as I encountered the same problem on a Mazda 3 (2012) I just purchased. The salesman didn't know about this fix, so I was able to talk him down a bit. I found out this is a common problem for all of the c1 chasis (mazda bk) cars made by volvo, ford, as well as mazda. They share common electronics for the Ford Focus, Volvo (several models), and the Mazda 3. A neighbor had this same problem with his Ford a year ago, and the battery disconnect trick worked there too. An electrical engineer who works with me checked out the car, and pretty much agreed with me that the stock negative battery cable terminal is crap. Replace it with a beefier aftermarket one, and you shouldn't have that problem again.
whodat54321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April-25th-2014, 06:47 AM   #11
milan.draca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
milan.draca is an unknown quantity at this point
Works for mee too. Thanks sazzy!
milan.draca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April-25th-2014, 06:47 AM
Mazda3Club
Mazda3




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
08, 2005, 2006, 2011, died, display, issue, light, lights, mazda, problem, problems, radio, stop, stopped, working


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Radio display stopped working tommo Exterior/Interior/Audio 0 July-11th-2010 04:18 AM
Radio/Clock/temp display dead sroy40 Mazda3/Mazdaspeed3 6 June-11th-2007 09:04 PM
Protege radio display BamaFan Exterior/Interior/Audio 2 January-29th-2005 01:50 AM
Radio Display Alexa Mazda3/Mazdaspeed3 5 October-1st-2004 04:35 PM
radio display doclaw Exterior/Interior/Audio 1 July-27th-2003 08:29 PM




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 PM.


All content Copyright © 2012 by Internet Brands, Inc.